© 2010-2017 University Technical Services, Inc.   All rights reserved.


UT-Services, was established in 2008 as a small business to meet the special needs of government and industry with scientific and management expertise.  Our mission is the pursuit of science to strengthen our nation’s security and economic vitality.  Hence our motto: “Science serving our nation.”



We are an equal opportunity employer

Not because a law requires it; but because it is right

Not because it is easy - it is difficult work; but because we care for individual integrity

We empower our employees to believe in themselves, and to strive for greatness

Not at the cost of coworkers; but for the satisfaction of a team doing important work well

Not at the cost of family; for the success is never achieved alone

We believe and trust in one another

Jewel B. Barlow, PhD

Associate Professor & Director, Glenn L. Martin Wind Tunnel since 1977, manages the activities of the professional staff and directs the planning and execution of numerous wind tunnel R&D programs.  This has included experiments totaling over 19,000 hours of wind tunnel time on ground vehicles, helicopter, fixed-wing aircraft, submarines, yachts, building complexes, and a wide range of other applications.  A major activity is the ongoing design and implementation of computerized data acquisition and control applied to the objects under test, and the operation of the wind tunnel and its control systems.


John B. McKinley

Over 30 years of research, engineering, and management experience for the FAA, NASA, DoD, DOE, and USCG, along with other agencies and industry programs.  He serves as Director of Civil Aviation Programs for the University Research Foundation, and previously as Vice President for SAIC.  He has over 57 technical publications, and an active member of RTCA and SAE technical committees.  PIlot/SEL.


Edwin G. Tirona


Norris J. Krone, Jr., PhD

President of URF, has over 45 years of aeronautical engineering and management, R&D, and flight test activities for FAA, DoD, DARPA, and industry avionics manufacturers.  Dr. Krone served as DARPA Air Vehicle Technology Office Director.  He also served on the NASA Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel, and the NASA Aerospace Technology Advisory Committee for 20 years.  He is currently a member of the NGATS Safety Working Group for NextGen.

Former Board Member

Lon Dill

Mr. Lon Dill, CUCM, USN (Ret), Facilities Administrator for the University of Maryland, with over 50 years of experience in construction and public works management for the U.S. Navy, other government agencies, and private industry. He has served as the facilities manager for the Laboratory for Physical Sciences, starting with the on-site representative during construction of the building, and continuing with administering complex science lab and building expansions for over 20 years.

Board Member

Mark Thornton

An information technology (IT) innovator with the University of Maryland for the Laboratory for Physical Sciences with fourteen years of hands-on technical and management experience for industry and federal services.  He has designed and implemented diverse scientific network environments for 200 scientists and multi-national collaborators, including secure networks.  Designs audio-visual systems for complex display of research data.

Board Member

Vice Admiral Robert F. Dunn, U.S. Navy (Retired)

Commanded all Naval Air Forces of the U.S. Atlantic Fleet, commanded worldwide forces of the Naval Reserve, and commanded the Naval Military Personnel Command. He is currently the president of the Naval Historical Foundation, and president of the Association of Naval Aviation. He served on aerospace company boards, as Chair of GSA's Aviation Policy Management Board in a review of safety as pertains to non-DOD government aircraft, as Deputy Chairman of the NASA Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel, and president of the National Consortium for Aviation Mobility (NCAM).

Former Board Member

Please reload